The day after the election was hard and I felt heartbroken. 

I listened to NPR all day hoping to find some sort of justification. 

As I processed I moved through feelings of anger, grief, sadness, but at moments acceptance. 

This morning I woke up and spent sometime meditating after dropping Elijah off at school.  

Then I realized something and couldn’t help but laugh. 

I didn’t believe that Clinton being elected was a solution to anything except that it just meant a vulgar racist narcissist like Trump wouldn’t be possible. 

Even more clear was the realization that she was like “settling” with a relationship because I was comfortable. 

So then in my silence, I understood the emotions I felt yesterday and realized Trump is Americas rebound. 
In my own past, I’ve rebounded low (though not quite so low as Trump) after ending what I thought was beautiful in order to be ready for the transformation that comes later. 

The rebound tends to dangle pretty, yet empty promises, and it is often mediocre compared to what you had just experienced, however that is the appeal. 

Sometimes the rebound is gross and vulgar because you are afraid to put faith in someone you want to love just to be disappointed again and again. 

In this realization, I laughed and the heaviness lifted. 

So Trump is the rebound which leaves me to believe that this can move us in a direction for even greater progress and make us ready for someone as progressive as Sanders. 

It is just a part of of the shift. 

Leave a Reply

