No amount of abuse ever broke me,

Neither self inflicted push and shove,

Nor the pull and tug of some sadistic fool 

Ever broke my body, heart, mind, and all the things that make me this. 

And then I fell utterly in love with these little cherubs with their chubby cheeks and pouty lips

Beautiful peals of laughter and warm bodied snuggles,

And I loved them so much I broke

In ways that made my back hurt and shoulders sore and heart ache and head spin. 

Motherhood broke me in ways that made me soft and tender,

Yet I would not change a thing 

Because the healing was in the breaking. 

Leave a Reply

