In my youth I gave my heart to friends,

Always giving what would please,

As my heart grew, I gave bigger pieces to boys,

Always giving what would please. 

Then I became a woman and gave most of it away to many wrong men. 

Always giving what would please.

And then I met the right one and gave him the very best parts of my heart,

Always giving what would please. 

And I became a mother and gave ever single piece, even more than I could spare to my children,

Always giving what would please.

And I felt love, and gratitude, but it would be mixed a bit with pain and fatigue and I became a little empty trying to replenish all that I would give,

Always trying to give what would please. 

One day I sat in silence and realized that

I forgot to give my heart to myself and my heart felt limited,

So I decided to give myself the core piece,

So that it could grow infinite,

Always giving what pleased me,

And I no longer needed to please,

Because the radiating love of the heart has always been enough. 

Leave a Reply

